Professional Portfolio Contact – Dale Driver

Whilst in pre-production for my FMP, I thought it would be a good idea to get some advice from directors who have made similar style films to mine. After watching some of the previous years FMP’s I stumbled across the short film Citizen by a former student, Dale Driver. Citizen is a very well made short SciFi film that is very dark and atmospheric, which is was something I wanted to achieve with my own film. And although made on an extremely small budget, it has a high production value feel, something else I wanted to replicate.

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 23.27.47

I connected with Dale on Linkedin and messaged him for advice on various aspects of the filmmaking process. Getting advice from someone who had been in the exact same situation the previous year was really useful to me, as it helped to put what was ahead of me into perspective, and the task of making a short SciFi film felt a lot more achievable.

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 23.16.04

Dale is an important contact because he has been almost exactly the same thing process I am about to go through, and it is good to know someone who has gotten through that and come out with a job. He also works for a film production company called Blue Ridge Films, which could potentially be a source of freelance directing work in the future.

Screen Shot 2015-05-22 at 21.57.12

References

blueridgefilms [online]. (2015). Available from: <http://www.blueridgefilms.co.uk/&gt;. [Accessed 18th May 2015].

Leave a Reply

